Monday, July 23, 2012
DFW Tex-Mex cheat sheet: Is it vegan?
The list below details which Dallas-Fort Worth Tex-Mex restaurants have vegan offerings.
Let’s face it. Here in the DFW area, Tex-Mex restaurants are like Starbucks Coffee: There’s one (or more) on every corner. The great thing about Tex-Mex restaurants is that they all offer relatively the same (potentially) vegan options – chips, guacamole and salsa, beans and rice plus tortillas, veggies, and sauces. All of these can be combined to make various tacos, burritos, enchiladas, and the like.
The problem is that for any given restaurant, you can never be sure that any of those options are vegan without asking first. (Rice = chicken stock, beans = lard, tortillas = dairy, etc.) With that in mind, we’ve started a list of Tex-Mex restaurants that have been asked the question -- "Is it vegan?" -- to make it easier for you! The list is certainly a work-in-progress and we hope to add to it and continually update with your input!
Note #1: Things can change at any time in the restaurant industry and we can’t guarantee it will always be 100% accurate. Please use this as a guide and when in doubt, ask.
Note #2: If a cell is empty, it means we’re not for sure or that particular item hasn’t been asked about -- not necessarily that there aren’t any options.
Note #3: Always ask for “no cheese” (unless the place has vegan cheese). Even if the beans, rice, and everything else is vegan, most Tex-Mex places will put cheese on everything -- it’s better to be safe than sorry!
Pegasus News Content partner - Dallas Vegan